I Can’t Blame Him

Dedicated to the one who can’t be named.


I now realized that he was too young to cope up with the onslaught of adoration that came his way. There were those that smothered him with adulation; beautiful, rich and influential. It was inherently inevitable that he’d take a fancy. I couldn’t blame him.
But how can you blame someone who’s trying to remain faithful with you but finally responded to their urges? I can see him suffering and it’s affecting our relationship. He was flocked by harpies, the temptations just naturally followed him around. It’s only a matter of time…

It’s not as if he has an ironclad feelings and discipline towards his urges like a monk. No, he’s a warm blooded young man filled with energy. But before you say it, let me make it clear that I’m not making excuses for him. I did my best to understand the logic behind his actions and sometimes we just have to turn off our feelings and face the new reality: love’s lost and now he’s gone.

Nothing will change if I kept on blaming him. He’ll move on in his life and face a new conquest. I’m also not entirely faultless. I shouldn’t be left embittered by this because I’ll only hurt myself further.


© 2017 Mel Joy (themonochromereaper.wordpress.com) All Rights Reserved

Author: themonochromereaper

"I write based on observations, imagination and experience. There's a thin line among them.The truth is oft hidden so one should learn to read between the lines."